Smitten with Pink Lemonade Bars

News bulletin: it’s been REALLY hot this week. So when it came to thinking about a dessert, requirements were low cooking to eating ratio, and something more sharp than sweet.  In my humidity-indused lethargy I came across Smitten Kitchen – how did I not know about this blog? Love her tone – perfection is not the goal, I messed up on my way to this recipe, my kitchen looks like the one every NYC-dweller has conducted cooking ballet in before – all in all, great place to peruse. So, dove in with her Pink Lemonade Bars. Here’s my version.  I too made some typical cooking shortcuts – didn’t wait for crust to cool before I filled (which may have resulted in more filling being absorbed by said crust) and went forward with raspberries that were a tad lacking in flavor. Nonetheless, result worth repeating. My own addition – had extra raspberry puree, so added a tad of simple syrup (as I said, they weren’t at their best) and drizzled over vanilla ice cream. Perfect antidote to a cloyingly hot summer day. I’m smitten.

Leave a Reply

